Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Everyday Shakespeare

What a day!

I was in Haltwhistle this morning to photograph the walkers on the first three walks of the Walking Festival. They set off at half hourly intervals.

It was good fun. There were lots of returners, so hugs and kisses all round. Three Australians came for the first time, plus a young couple from Newcastle.

When I came to photograph the third group, there were two women standing behind the group, with their backs to us. They did not want to be photographed but had placed themselves in the image! (I did ask them to move!)

Then to Maureen’s to wish her a happy 80th birthday today. The family arrived to go out together for lunch and I beat a quick retreat.

After a rest, I was at the Queen’s Hall to hear David and Ben Crystal talking about everyday words in Shakespeare. They were brilliant and worth hearing if you have not heard them before.

Ben’s dog knows to come on stage when the audience applauds. Her expression says it all really!

As soon as the event finished, I was out of the door to drive to Wark for a concert. My friend, Ian Brown, puts on regular gigs. Tonight he sang as supporting act for the Kate Green Band. It was a very good concert and, for once, I was able to stay to the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.