This is the day

By wrencottage

Great Langdale Beck

We went over to the hotel this morning to join our soon-to-be daughter-in-law in a meeting with the events manager to finalise the details for next Saturday’s wedding, and it all seems to be very well organised.

I had a slight panic on the photography front this afternoon when I decided I’d like to take some shots of the beck which rushes down past the back of our lodge. Picking up my long lens, I aimed it at the beck, but was unable to take a photo. I could see a flashing light in the viewfinder, and there was a message on the screen which read “Card 2 is write-protected”. 

I dashed inside to check the manual, but could find nothing to help me so I typed the error message into Google. Up came a response on the Canon Community website which said “The little sensor microswitch that is in the card slot is stuck. You might be able to use a toothpick or something to wiggle it loose. Or, send it in to Canon.”

That really floored me, because I had visions of my 7D being out of action for the whole holiday. However, someone had added a further comment under the first one which read “Or the little sliding switch on the side of the SD card itself is in the locked position.”

I could have kissed the second person. That was what had caused the problem, and when I slid the switch back up to the top (a switch I didn’t even know existed until now) the problem was solved. So I’ve learned something and am very grateful.

Thus I am now able to show you a close up of the Great Langdale Beck, which runs through our estate and which is a source of continual joy for us as we sit and look at it when we’re up here. There’s also a shot of a dipper with a beakful of food in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.