The Wren

By TheWren

'Tis finished

This is a such good day for me - I have finally finished this doublebed size quilt which has taken me so much longer than any previous ones. All the piecing and quilting has been done by hand and I was working well on this one, a wedding present for my step grandson, when my husband died on the very last day of 2009, just a few months before the wedding. The piecing was fairly complicated and I simply couldn't relax enough to continue for quite a while. ..... and then, eventually, I gradually began to take it up again. The very patient couple are now expecting their second baby and I will be seeing them on Monday - they have no idea that the quilt is now finished as they have never pestered me for it. I now have to carefully wash it - it has been on the go a long time - then it will be ready to hand over.

This is how it looked in October as I started to quilt it and there is a bit of an explanation of how the quilting would look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.