Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The bird feeder

I morning spent rushing around - I had to take my son to school only to fetch him an hour later so that I could take him to his piano exam. I had hoped he could have just spent the morning at home until he was due to go to his exam, but he had a Biology test first thing this morning :(

The piano exam went well, I was listening outside the door and it seemed to be fine. Then I had to take him back to school, stopped off to get a quick blip of some birds at the Painshill Park lake - but I preferred this one of this cute little girl feeding the birds.

Now chores at home before I have to fetch Thomas from school again. How many trips is that in one day? No cricket for him tonight as we are going to the Leaver's Concert at his older brothers' school. The Upper Sixth musicians each play a solo performance accompanied by the school orchestra, like a mini recital for each boy. The standard of music is very high and by this stage at the end of their school careers their performances are superb - not a concert to be missed. It is much work for the orchestra as they have a week to learn all the accompanying pieces, and often very long movements are chosen by the soloists so as to really showcase their talents. Hence why my eldest son, Luke, who is the principal trumpeter in the orchestra, was not able to go to the Cambridge Open Day yesterday as he could not miss the rehearsals. Adam is the principal clarinettist so it is worth us going to these concerts as we see both boys perform at once. Tomorrow for the end of term festivities and Speech day, the orchestra is playing all the movements from Sibelius' 5th symphony, so you can see they have been kept very busy as the term draws to a close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.