Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Luke's last day of school

Today was Luke's last day of school. It started early with the final chapel service, followed by speech day and prize giving. The main prize winners delivered some outstanding speeches that had me in awe of their abilities. This was followed by a picnic lunch in the grounds, overlooking the cricket pitch where a match was being played by the 1st team against the old boys. Luke has had the most incredible five years at this school, he has been so involved in so many things and therefore has got so much out of it.

After lunch we heard the Symphony Orchestra perform the full works of Dvorak's 9th symphony - they are the only school orchestra I know of who perform all the movements of a symphony and not just the easy ones! They were sublime, I think the best I have ever heard them perform. I was literally moved to tears - the beauty of the music and realising that I would never see Luke perform with this orchestra again (or maybe any orchestra) was all too much for me.

I managed to pull myself together in time to see the jazz band play some upbeat jazz numbers while we had tea in the marquee. Here is Luke performing with the jazz band, already wearing his newly purchased leavers waistcoat. How they played so well is beyond me, as last night was his Leaver's Ball and he did not get much sleep at all.

It has been a most memorable day of great emotions. It was very sad for Luke to say goodbye, but with Adam still there and Thomas starting in the autumn he will hopefully be back to visit.

I am now feeling rather tired and emotionally drained. I apologise for my absence on journals but I will try to catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.