Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

YOU MUST KNOW BY NOW THAT...

...Thursday is Community Fridge Day!  I must confess I didn’t really want to go today, but of course, I still went, because I don’t like letting people down - and not only the other volunteers, but also our loyal customers.

Once I got there, I felt fine and it’s good to chat to the volunteers to find out how they are and to encourage them.  The couple at the top left of my collage this week are relatively new to our Church but have quickly thrown themselves into working in different areas.  They seem to enjoy being at the Community Fridge each week and it’s always good to see them their smiling faces.  J is usually quite cheeky to me from the time I walk in, but I give him as good as he gives me, whereas his wife, G and I have some lovely chats together about home, family and cooking - and she makes the most delicious mince pies and scones so a good lady to know!  

There was lots of fruit, vegetables and bread at the Fridge today - but I do honestly wonder when supermarkets will stop over-ordering bananas.  We got rid of loads, but there were still two large baskets full that no-one wanted so will eventually be taken to the tip.  I had a lovely chat with one of our customers who told me - and showed me a photograph of what she makes with mashed up bananas, yeast and plain flour before cooking them in oil - sounded much like banana fritters but she said these are much nicer.  I told her she needed to bring some in to the Fridge one week so that we could try them!

The Prayer Table is always set up, next to the Prayer Tree, where people can write their prayers on “leaves” made of card and hang them on the tree.  This morning I had quite a long conversation with someone about what happens after death - although his mother had died over 25 years ago, he was obviously feeling it today, as it was the anniversary of her death.  

At the end of the morning, there wasn’t much left in the fridge and freezer and most of the other fruit and veggies had disappeared, all except the bananas and a few oranges and potatoes.

During the morning, it was good to be able to sit and chat to several of our customers and there was much laughter around the table I was on when we chatted about our childhood memories - I was so glad I went!  I won’t be there for a few weeks now because after our holiday, I have my first cataract operation, but I will still be praying for all that goes on at the Community Fridge  during the week.

Now I’m home, I have just stuck some anti-collision window stickers onto our two patio doors in the lounge - it says on the pack that they prevent bird strikes, but actually they are to stop Mr. HCB walking into the doors again like he did yesterday!  He gave himself a real bang on the head and has the large lump to prove it - it was just a blessing he didn’t have his reading glasses on, otherwise he might have done more damage.

Now I’d better do some packing before cooking our evening meal -  I’m getting quite excited about going away now!  The only problem is that there is no wifi in the flat where we are staying, so it may mean a trip to the local hostelry each evening so that I can post my Blip!  The things we have to do in the name of Blip!! ;-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.