Hoverfly on Astrantia

I think this hoverfly is Helophilus pendulus and if it is my guidebook doesn't give it a common name. There have been lots of bees in the garden today and Ann even left them some clover flowers when she cut the grass yesterday - but as ever the hoverflies are much more still than the bees so my choice for the day. (I did get one or two bees in focus amazingly). The Astrantias are at their best at the moment and I particularly like this hybrid pink one - if they are going to feature in a still life I need to get on with setting one up.

A arrived today for a few days and he and Ann are busy catching up. I've been trying out ideas for my woodcut course using pieces of lino - I think it's helped me think things through.

Outside is hot, hot!!! (We don't recognise this kind of weather anymore!) In-between taking photos of insects I've been inside and the welcome cool of the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.