SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Sneis

Today I'd intended to go to Viðareiði to climb Villingadalsfjall, en route to Cape Enniberg. However, the 11:30 bus didn't arrive. I found out why later, but I had to change plans. I'd checked out some peaks near Streymnes as part of another plan, so I took the next bus towards Tórshavn. 

It was a beautiful day, and I shared some of the scenery with И when she called me to discuss an urgent work issue - a call that was not interrupted when we went through two long tunnels. I got off at Halavík (see extra), with its very cute church (see extra) and headed straight up the grassy hillside.

The hard rock strata that occurs here can make for well guarded but flat summits, and this was the case with both today. The first was Bollin (616m pictured in background) where, faced with an exposed traverse on steep, wet and loose ground, I preferred a short climb up a chimney. It was also a bit damp, but less exposed. I found an easy way off the summit, and then contemplated Sneis (747m). It was easy grass until the 25m summit cone (see extra). I was prepared not to try, but then I spotted a rope hanging down, so guessed that was a reasonable route up. There were just a few sketchy moves to get onto solid, easy scrambling to the flat top.

After using the rope for psychological support on the way down - I wouldn't put all my weight on a rope exposed to the elements, even though it was very well anchored - I had a dilemma. Do I complete the horseshoe with a less exciting peak, and return to Streymnes, or head across country to Vestmanna, a village I'd never visited. I chose the latter.

After an hour, and a final steep, grassy descent, I checked the bus timetable and saw that I could just make the next bus if I ran and crossed some open pasture. I just got to the stop in time, but there was no sign of a bus. After waiting a while, I resigned myself to a two-hour wait. Fortunately a decent café was open, so I had a burger and a beer to refuel. Although I was at the bus stop well before it was due, and could see the road where it would arrive around the headland and descend into the village, no bus came. Faced with a 16km walk to get a bus to Klaksvík, I was half way up the hill out of the village when I spotted a moving bus in the village - 30 minutes late! I hailed it when it left and, as the only passenger, had a good chat with the driver. It was a local holiday, so they were running a Sunday service! Hence the reason why there was no bus to Viðareiði in the morning! He took me into Tórshavn, got me a discount ticket from the driver of the Klaksvík bus, and left. I had 50 minutes to Turf three zones and start composing this entry. I'm now on the bus to Klaksvík 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.