Living my dream

By Mima

Scarred for life

Bean bounces in and out of long grass and bush regularly in her pursuit of mice lions. Last week she emerged after another fruitless campaign with blood dripping from a cut next to her eye. It was a very close call. 

Today the scab came off and she is left with a scar which may last her for life. It doesn't detract from her beauty, although I may be slightly biased.

The guests arriving late tonight are R's brother and his wife, M and M. I am accommodating the overspill from the family home which is just down the road. They are all gathering for the memorial service for K tomorrow, which will likely be attended by hundreds of people.

M and M will spend most of their time with the family and just come here to sleep, so I shan't see much of them. Which is as it should be. 

The cold wintery weather continues. There was another -3C frost last night, and I spent a chilly morning gardening at G's. She and the kids are all sick with Covid for the fourth or fifth time, poor things, so I kept my distance. 

For a change I've not done anything at all in my garden. I've spent the afternoon in the cosy study, writing. I seem to be ahead of the jobs for once, so it's a luxury in which I can afford to indulge myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.