Living my dream

By Mima

Minus five

It was a really cold night and early morning. -5C isn't unusual here in deep winter, but I've not experienced anything this cold in May since moving here seven years ago. And it came on the back of three successive -3C nights, which is again out of the ordinary.

The Blip was taken at about 9am as the sun started to creep across Chez Mima, melting the frost as it did so. 

It was still a cool 10C for K's memorial this afternoon, which was held in the open air in the A&P Showgrounds grandstand. I was well wrapped up in my huge woollen overcoat, and for the second hour of the service I was thankful for it when a brisk breeze picked up off the sea.

I estimated about 500 people were there. K was well-kent and well-loved. There were tears and laughter, some wonderful stories and a couple of beautiful waiata sung by K's work colleagues. All in all it was a perfect celebration of her life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.