Horicon Marsh

We're planning to go visit our daughter in Sept., so this week I'm having a "stay-cation"...I'm off of work but not going anywhere so we can save our money for when we travel to Texas! So my husband agreed to go do all the things I've wanted to do, but don't because I'm always working. Today we went to Horicon Marsh. It's about an hour & 15 minutes from Milwaukee, & was established in 1941 to provide a sanctuary for migratory birds. It's over 33,ooo acres & is one of the largest freshwater marshes in the US. Even thought I was born & raised here, I've never gone before. It has miles of hiking trails so we spent the morning roaming around. There are fields full of plants that are native to Wisconsin that you just don't see anymore, & we saw pelicans, a muskrat, cranes, herons, ducks, all kinds of small birds & geese. Unfortunately (for us, not the birds), the trails keep people a safe distance away so the birds aren't bothered .........even with a long lens it wasn't quite long enough. Took lots of shots of the native plants & grasses though, & loved this one. I have no idea what type of grass this is, but there was a whole field of it, growing in amidst all the white & yellow wildflowers. The grass looked all shimmery in the wind & light, & the yellow flowers added extra color. Now I'm sunburnt & tired, but had a great day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.