ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Northern Lights

I know - Blip is full of these today, but I was just so amazed that I could see something so spectacular from my back garden. And, it seems pretty much most of the U.K. saw it as well, from their back gardens (and not just the U.K. judging by a picture of the Southern Lights I’ve just seen!)
We have the Aurora monitoring app and have dashed off around the Lake District from time to time looking for one, but to no avail. We’ve even thought about booking a cruise to Iceland to try and see one.
And it was even more satisfying that last night was a bit of a fluke. Because it’s a Bank Holiday week, our refuse collection was scheduled for a day later than normal, otherwise I wouldn’t have been going out of the house at 11.30pm to dump the last bag in the wheelie bin. I thought the sky looked a bit strange, but it was only when I turned around that I saw the full splendour of what was happening.
I dashed inside, woke Mrs C - who had gone to bed early - and we then spent an hour or so watching and taking photographs before it started to fade a bit.
That’s definitely one off the bucket list, and I didn’t even have to pay for an expensive trip to the Arctic to see it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.