Today's the day

By sheilwill

Nuthatch

Today's the day ...................... for a stake-out

I'd suspected it for a while - but really, I couldn't believe that we would be so lucky as to have a nuthatch nesting in one of our boxes in the garden.

So as today was mine to do with as I pleased and it being a lovely warm, sunny day - I thought I would find a good place where I could watch the nestbox and see if anything happened.  And it didn't take long to confirm the theory beyond any sort of doubt.  I could see a little head (with that distinctive black eye-stripe) appear at the hole - presumably Mrs Nuthatch who was either sitting on eggs or looking after some newly-hatched nuthatches.  Then Mr Nuthatch landed on the top of the box (see extras), handed in a tasty morsel while balancing precariously in the usual upside-down position (extra 2), and then flew off again.

He was back again within a few minutes, to do the same thing all over again.  I imagine it must be quite exhausting for him - and he'll be looking forward to that drink at the end of the day ...................!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.