curns' corner

By curns

Leg room

Out with luggage and an 11:02am train from Clapham to Gatwick. It was a short walk to terminal through the revitalised station (which seems to have much more circulation room) and, as we were already in the South Terminal, it’s a short walk to the BA check-in. We’d splashed out on business seats so the associated bag drop queue was smaller and it allowed us to walk through the Fast Track security.  My bag was stopped for inspection because I’d forgotten there was a hand sanitiser in the side pocket. I always feel so silly when I do that because I try to be conscientious. I suppose it also shows that the security is working. 

It must be the start of the Easter holidays for some people. The airport was packed and, when we arrived at the lounge, the very front section was full of a large crowd with small children. It wasn’t quite the oasis of calm I had been imagining although nobody misbehaved and everybody was lovely. We found a section toward the back that we managed to hold on to until the others arrived when we started our holiday with a glass of something from the bar and a some food from the buffet.  I probably ate too much in the lounge and should have forgone the plane food, but of course I didn’t.

It turned out that we had been allocated an emergency aisle seat. I wonder about the wisdom of saying yes with my sore arm but PY was by the door and, I think, in an emergency I would have been more concerned about exiting than a pain in my shoulder. Thankfully, none of that was needed. The flight ran almost half an hour late but it didn’t really feel it at any point. 

Airport security at Lanzarote was a breeze, with electronic gates that accepted British passports. The bags were a bit slower but we were not waiting too long and the taxi queue probably moved faster than it felt.  Although the resort is almost next to the airport, it’s still a ten minute, €20 taxi ride.  Check in was swift and we were allocated the villa next to the one we had previously stayed at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.