curns' corner

By curns

Conference drinks

Before 8am this morning I was out and about. I might even make a full week of the morning walk habit (if I count the walk to the office on Tuesdays). I hope so. I stopped off a Tesco to pick up some raspberries that I need to  go on my porridge and did the 40-minute loop version.  I am glad I’ve managed four days and, of course, it’s really good for me but I do not enjoy it as much as I did when I was in the habit back in the lockdown days. The streets are busier with traffic and people and it feels much harder to release. On the other hand, it’s great to get in some time before work and, in spite of what I just wrote, I think it does me good.

I has a number of meetings this morning, including a few reviews of user interface designs, and a preparation meeting for the yield management call with a priospect tomorrow morning.  I, therefore, didn’t get the company to buy a - or take up the offer of a free - ticket to the New Video Frontiers conference. However, I knew that there were some people from SAS and ITV there, as well as a bunch of other industry acquaintances.  I also knew that, by the end of the day, a number of the people I knew would be in the bar at the back of King’s Place. I wasn’t expecting to receive a message from Frank at lunchtime telling me he was already there.

At about 3:30pm I messaged Daniel,

Hey, any problem if I head out shortly? I've been invited to some drinks at the New Video Frontiers conference at King's Cross and I thought I'd head up there to see if anything interesting happened in the day. Did anybody from our sale side go?

And he, of course, wan’t too bothered to I headed out, arriving at Kings Place just before 5pm and leaving just after 10pm.  

Everybody was in good form and it was great to say hello to a few others people, JV, who I last worked with at Atlas, was apparently told I was coming and came back to the bar at one point just to say hello. Nice to see him again and get him onto the Thirsty Thursday group chat,.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.