curns' corner

By curns

Holiday

I walked to the seafront with PY. We stopped at a Pizzeria that served small Canarian platters, which we wanted to try. Our chosen option included padron peppers, bread, cheese, and Canarian potatoes (with both sauces).

The weather is quite mixed today. There are beautiful blue skies, but then the grey skies roll in with a little bit of rain. Just as everybody adjusts to the rain and is sheltering, then it stops. Occasionally, the breeze is up. We managed to complete our food while sitting outside. By the time the bill arrived, it was spitting with rain, and then the rain came down harder. PY was a bit annoyed by the rain - and his lack of an umbrella - so he headed back to the apartment while I tried to dodge the rain by running under various shop awnings until I got to the Spar, where we'd agreed to meet M&R to collect some lunch. After a few minutes, PY arrived, having failed to remember the correct code for the gate into our complex.

We spent the afternoon at the villa and then headed up to the resort's bar for Happy Hour. I had sangria while the others had beers. I ended up with three but missed the happy hour cut-off for the last one by a few minutes, which doubled the cost.

Next, back at the villa for the hot tub. This was the thing I was looking forward to the most, as I hoped it would help ease the discomfort in my shoulder. We spent over an hour soaking in the warm waters and drinking wine, but my shoulder felt no different when I got out. I'd think I'd hyped up the benefits of the water in my head and was quite down when there was no real impact. But, as everybody else said, there is a week to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.