talloplanic views

By Arell

Like, millions

While in the garden after work trying to rid myself of another ocular migraine I was photographing little snails for tiny tuesday, and then, as if by magic – *ting!* – an even littler millipede appeared.  It scurried around just long enough for me to take a  couple of snaps.  I like that you can see how it moves its legs in waves.  When he was younger, my brother used to jokingly ask if there was such a thing as a billipede, which presumably would have a thousand times more legs.

It also reminded me of a clip from You've Been Framed! many years ago where a little girl in the garden at home is seen shouting excitedly to her mother, "Snake!  Snake!" and the video camera zooms in and in and in, on what turns out to be a centipede.  I'm sure @flumgummery will remember that clip as well. :-)

As an antidote to tinyness, I read today that the prehistoric Arthropleura millipede grew to over six feet long, and that there are fossil footprints preserved on Arran, so I will now have to visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.