Day at a Time

By Tweedy

A wet day in Edinburgh

Through to Edinburgh today to meet 2 of my lifelong friends. One stays in Edinburgh, one in Glasgow and I'm in Stirling. We're taking it in turns to meet in the three cities. 

I travelled through  early and went to Register House for a bit of family history research. I was on the right track but I had the wrong reference. My ancestor's name was Munn but I'd requested the microfilms with the Mac and Mc surnames. The records relate to excise officers in the early 19th century. I'll need to go back another day. 

The blip is the view up North Bridge from the entrance to Register House. The statue is the Duke of Wellington. The Iron Duke in Bronze by Steell. 

Met my friends for coffee at the Fruitmarket then we walked up Fleshmarket Close to Le Bistot at the French Institute - Institut Français d'Écosse. 

We had a lovely lunch then I walked back to Waverley.The rain hasn't let up all day. The streets are running with water. I feel so vexed for the tourists arriving for their holidays. It really is utterly vile weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.