TrishaR

By TrishaR

BROOOOOS!

The day!

A wet wet wet drive down to Gateshead, stopping first to see my friend C and her now toddler, 13 month old Emme. So good to see her and the wee one.

Next was a drive to Chester-le-Street to the hotel to check in and drop off the bags. Still raining. Drive to Heworth to the long stay car park and then the metro to stadium of light for the concert. The metro was Heaving! I mean we had to wedge ourselves in at the door but everyone was in high spirits for the concert.

Off and a ten min walk to the stadium. It was 7pm the time it’s supposed to start but there was still multitudes waiting to get in. For some reason we struck it lucky just passing a gate that was opening so we were through it quite quick and then when we got into the stadium we got a spot at a newly created side area in the General Admission (next to the mosh pit).

Bruce didn’t come on stage till 7:40 due to the thousands still pouring in (45k of a crowd lot smaller than Murrayfield last May when it was a beaut of a day). We had a clear view to the stage.

Bruce was amazing as usual. It was still pouring rain and he came on and started with ‘Waiting on a Sunny Day’. Tour debut!

There was a good few changes in setlist from last year notably a favourite of mine ‘Racing in the Street’. Powerful song and the piano solo by ‘The Professor’. Was awesome. I adore Bruce in every way and seeing him brings me so much joy! He’s 74 now and played for 3 hours. His stamina is off the charts. He works a stadium like no other.

The rain never went off. I’ve never been to such a wet concert before just incessant. And I was shivering at the end. I’ve never seen so many drunks at a gig getting hoisted out. When I left I heard a thud and this old guy had tripped off the pavement and splatted down and I asked his friend if he was ok and he said yes he’s just had a wee bit too much too drink !

Metro back to the car park and then back to hotel. I had to ask them to turn on the heating as it was controlled by reception and had to dry off our waterproofs.

I did not care I had just seen another brilliant performance by my hero.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.