Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wells-Next-The-Sea

Today was cooler with light rain, while at home it was warmer and sunny. We got up early, Gavin went sailing as high tide was at 8am and there is only about a 2 hour window in which one can sail before the tides starts going out again. In this flat landscape the tide comes in and out very quickly here. 

I had planned to go for a run and take Xena with me, but when I went to get her out of her bed she just went back in, curled up and wanted to sleep, there was no way she was even interested in coming out for a run with me. So much for an energetic and athletic dog! I went on my own and had an enjoyable run. When I got back Xena was still sleeping, I think our long walk yesterday really tired her out. 

Back home there were some unexpected road works on a bridge over the A3 so the traffic was awful. Yesterday I was getting messages on our neighbourhood WhatsApp chat about children being taken to school and getting stuck in traffic for over 5 hours! Today I saw on X (formerly Twitter) that Hugh Grant was even complaining about being stuck in this A3 traffic today, and how people were having to get out of cars to find a spot on the side of the road to have a wee. It will be partly closed till next week so the traffic chaos continues. 

By the time I was showered and had breakfast Gavin was back home again. It was raining by now. Tommy arrived late morning and we went to Wells-Next-The-Sea where we had a brief wander around in the light rain before settling in at Wells Deli for a quick lunch. We had a delicious prawn laksa which was perfect on a cool day.

Then back to the house where I packed a small overnight bag and we left for Kent. We are staying in a hotel in Tunbridge Wells for the night as it is close to our friends home where they are having their Ruby Wedding Anniversary party. There will be 40 guests for the 40th wedding anniversary!

I am posting this now as I am not taking my laptop with me. Off to Kent now and then back to Norfolk tomorrow. I hope the traffic won't be too bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.