Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Apple Pie

(25/5/24)

G left early again today, so I took a taxi to work. That flood is still affecting life! Nearly 1600 taxis were damaged during the storm. We are feeling the result of the shortage. Going to the main street and hailing a taxi is next to impossible now.

G picked me up in the afternoon. The hire car is supposed to be returned tomorrow, so I am keen to find out what is happening with the car. To my disappointment, I discovered that they have only started working on it today, even though they've had the part since Friday. Sadly, the part is faulty. It works, but it doesn't cut out when the desired temperature is reached, so the pipes were freezing.

G & I went out in the evening, trying to run as many errands as possible. We had a gas canister to swap, the recycling, I wanted to get a new compressor in case the secondhand one didn't work etc.

We did everything except get the alternative part. We ended up in Wafi for the last two errands. We'd eaten before we left home. I promised G dessert outside, and since we were near The Nine again, I told G we should check out their apple pie.

At the beginning of the month, when we first ate here, the Chef gave us a free dessert because the apple pie had gotten over. Today, we ordered one apple pie, but two came to the table. The waiter (Harry) said the Chef remembered us from our last visit and wanted to give us a free apple pie! What do you do? We accepted graciously and were even more surprised when he came to talk to us. Chef Shankar hails from India and doesn't look a day over 25, but listening to him talk about his career, he's got to be in his mid-30s. He was lovely.

We got home later than planned, and I went straight to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.