Teasel

By Teasel

Hornbeam Avenue

It was dry, so it was time to get het washing machine on – quite a few loads of washing ere done today, hung out and dried.  That felt like quite an achievement, given the amount of rain we’ve had these past few days.  It was warm, and quite muggy, so I expected a big splash at any moment – but it stayed dry all day. Late morning, I escaped my chores and went for a walk.  I saw the swans, but no cygnets and read a post later, that the cygnets are no more.  I thought they looked rather precarious yesterday being carried downstream in the river.
 
It’s Haddstock this weekend, a local music festival, and as I walked I could hear music that sounded like he school jazz band, so went in search of fit – only to find it wasn’t the school band, but an adult band.  I stood in the park and listened to them for a wee while, but was feeling peckish, so kept going and then made lunch when I got home. There was more pottering while TT pottered in the garden.  We then headed to Smeaton nursery in East Linton and picked up a few bedding plants for pots.  We also went for a walk around Smeaton lake, which was lovely in the late afternoon sunshine with the rhododendrons in full bloom.
 
We came home and enjoyed a gin and tonic, then TT got himself organised to cook and I went out for a walk, as my step count has been poor these last few days due to the rain.  Tea was almost ready when I got back home – and it was delicious, a tasty chicken curry with an equally  lovely veggie side dish. 
 
BB has been away all day at a rugby 7s tournament.  He wasn’t playing, but a few of his chums were.  He appeared home around midnight, just as I was heading to my bed.  My bedtime was delayed slightly, as  he insisted on telling me what a great day out he had had – with a few refreshments along the way!
 
I popped into St Mary’s Pleasance for a quick look when I was out earlier.   I love the order and neatness of the hornbeam avenue.  it was so nice to see blue sky too.
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.