Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Beautiful Bullfinch

This lovely bird isn't what I planned to blip today but I've seen so few this year that it had to be my choice. 

Yesterday went well. It had occurred to me that the whole event might be postponed because of the weather but I must have forgotten the hardiness and resilience of horsey people. Despite the torrential rain everyone ploughed on. We made £300 + 50p from selling the preloved equipment and clothing. That maybe doesn't sound much for a three person full day but mony a mickle maks a muckle (or more correctly mony a pickle maks a mickle). Whatever the saying you get the meaning. Riding is an expensive activity and everything we make goes towards the horses' upkeep. 

Despite feeling that I'd put in a day of really hard work yesterday I was horrified to see that I'd done fewer than 3K steps. This is unusual for me and I now have a huge deficit to rectify. I took myself, and Flora, up to the castle which is where I heard and spotted the bullfinch. 

It's the Glasgow holiday weekend and my grandson is away camping in Glencoe with his mum and dad. I hope they've stayed dry. This gives us a free day which is quite welcome. With my grandson in mind though  I popped into the Oxfam bookshop and bought a super DK Eyewitness book of planet earth facts. He loves his facts and this will be just up his street I hope. We can examine it next week when he's here. 

As you can see from the blip it's not a blue sky day but it's warmer and drier than yesterday - long may that last. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.