Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Classic Koala

So, a run today. A good run, though I didn't get out until the afternoon. It felt better than usual for an afternoon run, and I was pleased to get up to some significant hills en route to Faulconbridge, which I haven't run for a fair while.

The reason for not going in the morning was that I woke late (after 6) and didn't want to have to rush, getting ready to head to Featherdale Wildlife Park with mrs and mini tsukens. I took 210 photos, 78 of which are now in a Flickr set, so it was rather a struggle choosing a blip. ;-) In the end, technical limitations of some photos helped the decision, for example I really like this pelican and its chicks, but a chunk of its plumage is blown out into feature-less white. This buzzard is super-cool, but just not sharp, and was really washed out, needing a multiply layer, which made some bits too dark ... and nothing any sharper or better focused. This Powerful Owl (such an awesome name) is a brilliant-looking bird, but the photo isn't as sharp as I'd like. This cassowary is in some ways my favourite shot, but last time we went to Featherdale I blipped it, so I didn't want to do so again.

So we ended up with what was mrs tsuken's choice from the beginning: a fairly classic (not to say stereotyped) shot of a koala. And larger here.

We asked the kids what was their favourite bit of the day. Miss 7, with absolutely no hesitation: "going to see the crocodile!" - she later added the echidna, and the snakes to her 'favourites' list. Mstr 6 took a little longer to think, but decided his favourite bits were: stroking the koala, feeding the wallabies ... and seeing the Ferrari on the way home. xP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.