Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

At Play

So. Trees. We had a notice from the Council a while back that we had some branches getting too close to the powerlines from the roadside to our house: we were required to get them cut back to 1m or 50 cm (I forget which) from the lines, and then let them know that we'd been good. Mrs tsuken and I both found it fairly interesting that we had a couple of tree trimmer people turn up out of the blue in the days before the notice requiring us to get trees trimmed.

Anyway...

So today I went out with a long extendy-saw/lopper thing and a stepladder. Mostly no problem. There was one branch, however, that was above the powerlines - and I really didn't want it falling on them. So I got some thick twine and mrs tsuken. I managed to throw the twine around the branch, and got mrs tsuken to stand away from the powerlines, pulling on the branch. Unfortunately, as strong as she is, gravity won the day, and the branch not only fell onto the lines, but caught (of course) by a fork and hung there.

Yay.

Pushed the lopper thing up into the fork, but it wasn't long enough to lift the branch off the lines. With mrs tsuken holding it up, I grabbed other loppers, cut off bits hoping to lighten it ... useless. Took back the long lopper thing, sent her off to find another long thing. Pushed that into a lower fork, lifted ... off it came.

Whew.

Right pain in the backside. Thankfully nothing broken though. Except for the trees; poor trees. :-(

Later on in the day, Mstr 6 asked about the cardboard box that had been delivered yesterday (well, in actuality something was delivered in a cardboard box - but it was the cardboard box that had his interest). He had asked that when a box was delivered, we keep the box for him. Of course we had forgotten, and I had taken the box to the recycling bin, and even ripped it somewhat to make it fit better in the bin.

Whoops...

Mrs tsuken grabbed some duct tape while she was out, and the young master and I set about reconstructing the box - which was to become a car. He even put indicator and wiper stalks on the steering column, and insisted the steering wheel should turn (yes, I managed to make that happen, though it required more than just the box and the duct tape).

Then (or before; I think it was before) the kids went out playing, and I followed with the camera. I rather like this of Miss 7 framed through the foliage - and B&W here - but something, and I'm not sure what, just grabs me about this one.

Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.