In search of the Solway Sunset.

I've held a yearning, for some time now, to have a look at a, sadly missed, Solway sunset. We accomplished the, almost unheard of, feat of eating Sunday lunch at lunch-time, packed a couple of sausage sarnies, bits of fruit and a yogurt each and set of on a circuitous trek to Silloth.

First stop ... Moota, where, manymany moons ago I dived into the undergrowth to "water me nag" and emerged with a plant I didn't recognise and Mam identified as a Twayblade Orchid. ... No joy, I'll try another area some other time.
Next stop ... A brief halt at the bottom of the hill to see if the "Ellen Beck" was still where we left it. Surprise surprise, it was still there. Mind you it did look about dead compared to my rosy memory of paddling in it and catching Minnows and "Liggy bottoms". Where I remember a shingle bank and clear water there are now boulders, clearish water and brown trailing weeds and I sure as hell wouldn't let a kid paddle in it.
Then a slow drive past our old home, more changes.
Thence via West Newton (Where I saw that a barn we watched burning while the local crew tackled it, has been turned into a very des res.) to Allonby for a brew (Of course), a bit of a wander and an Icecream. 2 possible targets were "The Codfather" Fish & Chip shop and, for those who remember Max Boyce, an establishment labelled thusly ...
"PIG in the BATH"
Antiques. Collectables. Furniture
"
Onward, ever onward. Another brew at Silloth and a few wanders along "The Sea Front" then took root and waited.
Note to self ... Come later in the year to catch it setting over Criffel. Set off later in the day to avoid l - o - o - o- o - ng wait for setting.

BTW It was that colour through my N.D. graduated. Not a lot different to the nude eye either.

Forrard to 2018.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.