Signs

After a big day yesterday topping parents up with the good red stuff (not wine ;-) I spent a chunk of today with my friend Mary.

Mary had the unenviable job of teaching me at various times during my high school years. Some of those classes I was meant to be in, the occasional one I just decided to be in. I have no idea how I got away with any of this but I do know Mary was one of those significant teachers you look back and wonder what might have been had it not been for their input in your life. Mary is that teacher for me.

We pottered around Puhoi. I love that place, small, peaceful and with a proud Bohemian history. It's an interesting place. As we ordered coffees at the local store, Mary picked up a book written to celebrate the past 150 years of European settlement. She pointed out something she apparently would have taught me. Of course I looked completely blank - I suspect not dissimilar to the look I often had all those years ago ;-) We laughed when it became apparent I clearly hadn't paid any attention. We sat at a table outside close to these signs outside an eclectic little shop we like.

Across the road from here I bought a stack of $1 garden books from the Puhoi Library bargain table and couple of $3 novels. Now to get them home...

We were back at Mum and Dad's in plenty of time to me to take Mum to the doc. All pretty straightforward and I learned a few things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.