Photogen

By Photogen

Height of summer

With temperatures soaring to over 80°F today and no pressing need to get into a boiling hot car I've opted for a classic garden picture. Monkshood (aconitum) with its cowled hood adds great stature to a summer border. On 29th June I homed in on a single bloom with a bee beating a retreat. In today's picture I have tried to capture the soaring nature of the plant and a searing summer sun with cloudless blue sky.

The plants are almost taller than I am and with few severe winds this year they're in great shape and have not required a single stake. It is a relation of the delphinium and can be cut for display,but the plant is extremely poisonous. I'm happy to leave it towering in the border.

I added a light paint daubs filter to lighten the shadow side of the blooms in the strong light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.