Life at 50mm

By Stevie378

A day of annoyances . . . . . .

OK - I was told the BT engineer would arrive today ( "between 8am and 1pm" ) to repair my broadband. It was difficult sitting indoors whilst the sun blazed down outside, but I knew that the moment I moved away from the flat the engineer would arrive, So I sat and waited....... and waited. At 1pm it was time to get on the phone to BT, as it was obvious that no engineer was gonna be knocking on my door.
The guy at the BT call centre took the bollocking well, and blamed computers, phones, Jesus, Manchester United, NASA, pretty much everything, for the error that caused the engineers visit to my property to be cancelled, without informing me. Hilariously, he promised to re-book the appointment for ASAP, then asked if Wednesday afternoon was OK . . . . No, was my reply - tomorrow morning, first thing, please ! !
My afternoon stroll around Park Lime Pits was the next annoyance - the drawback with this good weather is it brings out the shirtless, tattooed, Bull Terrier leading chavs in their droves - and they all seem to head for the local nature reserves, where they can burn, break and destroy anything that others enjoy, whilst diving in the lakes and fishing next to the "no fishing" signs . . . .
Surprise, surprise - my usual lakeside spot was occupied by half a dozen young anglers, all were totally aware that no fishing was allowed in that particular spot, but none of them seemed concerned . . .
Not to worry - there are plenty of places in the area where one can find space, even when the chavs are all around.
I ended up in a corner of a quiet, sunny field, where I spent an hour sunbathing........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.