The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Nailsworth, twinned with Leves, France

A new mural has been created in Nailsworth. Unfortunately it is situated right behind a bus shelter, which is why you get this less-than-wonderful shot. As soon as I stopped to snap it, a local character came along and started telling me about some new camera with a phone and a radio that costs £800. "I think I'd just take the camera" I said, which seemed to be the magic words, as he vanished...

The gist of it is: Nailsworth is a Fair Trade town ( it has a certain number of shops that sell Fairly Traded goods, which give a fair price to farmers/food producers/craft workers). Nailsworth is twinned with Leves, France, which is evidently near Chartres Cathedral, shown above.

My first thought was that the mural depicted golfers or curlers, but these men appear to be the builders of Chartres Cathedral. The Five Valleys around Stroud were famous for their woollen cloth industry, so I think that's why the sheep are shown. But there might be sheep in Leves, too. I neglected to note the name of the artist, so I will have to tell you in a week's time, when I return to Nailsworth. I doubt if I will get a better image, unless I remove the bus shelter.

Another hot day; a new client; a happy cat (Bomble is almost back to bouncing health again, though very thin); and CleanSteve back from Bristol. Hurrah! All well in the household. Tomorrow is school prom (musically-oriented) day, which promises to be fun. school The marquee went up today, so we will have shade, which will be most welcome, though goodness knows, I am not complaining ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.