Journey Through Time

By Sue

Picasa Bumblebee

(Liatris spicata), commonly called blazing star and a bumblebee, Picasa style. This plant is actually planted in the wrong place. We just don't have full sun in our backyard and this is too shady for it, which is one reason why it is growing so tall. You can't tell that here, of course. If I want a perennial garden it would have to be in the front yard as our house faces the south.

Anyway....Had to go to aunties today and help her with some things. On the way over I sat at a stop light and I could see the on ramp to the freeway. The traffic on the freeway south was at a standstill and I was lucky to be able to get off the freeway where I needed to be. Then I saw all of these firetrucks and emergency vehicles with lights flashing, but no sirens, all going onto that on ramp to that freeway....firetrucks, police cars, ambulances...all sorts of vehicles and I thought, Holy Cow what the heck happened! I found out later that today was the day for a memorial service for one of the Hot Shot firefighters who died last week in that horrible fire in Arizona. He was from Lake Oswego , just south of Portland. Such a sad thing. This was a group from Portland heading to his service. An awkward telling of that story, but I guess I got it out okay...

Better go for now. See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.