Photogen

By Photogen

Potato Flowers

The Désirée potatoes I'm growing have produced the most incredibly beautiful flowers or maybe I'm just becoming more observant now I'm using my camera every day. In this composite, the top shot is a posterised image of the plot and the main photo is a close-up of a flower cluster taken from a low angle. The Désirée's skin is a beautiful red colour and clearly this is present in the red-violet flowers fading to white.

It's reckoned the average European diet includes over 70 lbs of potatoes annually - for many people in Scotland in the form of chips ! Here potatoes are often referred to as tatties, and the tattie scone is popular. Potatoes grow well in our climate because there's plenty of summer rain. However China is now the world's largest potato-producing country. I find this surprising as I always think of the Chinese staple diet as rice.

Sony Cybershot
Plot: ISO 400, 10.4, F8 , 1/800th
Flowers: ISO 200, 10.4, f10, 1/500th

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.