See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

My Good Deed for the Day

I nearly accidently stepped on this poor exhausted bumble bee on the path this morning. I persuaded him to crawl onto a piece of kitchen paper so that I could try to revive him, I placed a large blob of honey close to him on the paper and he couldn't wait to tuck in. I also put a couple of drops of water on a spoon nearby but he didn't seem interested in that, he just wanted the honey. I watched him feed for about 15 minutes and took a few photos as well, he didn't mind me getting up close at all and I found his behaviour fascinating. He eventually finished feeding and started to clean himself up, having a good old wash and brush up and then as I watched closely he had a wee - who knew that bees had a wee, certainly not me!! He stayed on the paper in the sunshine for about another 20mins while he got his strength back and then just flew away to some nearby flowers. It made me feel really good that I had helped a bee on his way, we need all the bees we can get at the moment :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.