spannarama

By spannarama

Long slow climb

I saw on the news this morning that six female climbers were scaling the Shard for a Greenpeace protest against Shell's drilling in the Arctic, so I decided to get off the train at London Bridge with my camera. I was slightly worried I'd have missed all the action, but they had only made it up about a quarter of the way. Fair play to them for getting all the way up to the top (over a kilometre), but I still can't really understand why the whole thing took 16 hours. There must have been so much hanging about....

This evening Tim and I went over to see a lady he had helped out while I was away at Glastonbury. She is about 80 and was stranded on her mobility scooter which had run out of juice. Tim called her son-in-law for her and waited with her for about 45 minutes while he drove over from Bluewater. She invited us both to a party the following weekend but we couldn't make it, so we went over for a short visit this evening instead. She's a lovely lady, very interesting to talk to - and she told us that her house was the millionth built after the end of the Second World War. Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.