Rock Pooling

Katie and I stopped off at the shore on the way home from the library and had a paddle about in the roasting hot rockpools at the end of a roasting hot day. She's having a good look at a little sea snail here. Brilliant to feel the sea breeze and wet our toes after a week in hot, sticky London.

I arrived home late last night to find the living room floor flooded and water hissing out of the radiator. A few hours later I had it mopped up, switched the boiler off and I thought that was it barring the insurance validation. But today it started up again and I had to find out how the heating is plumbed in a hurry. Turns out there's a baby header tank in the attic hiding behind the big one, and that feeds the heating. Off with the valve to that and open the drain outside, hey presto no water in the radiators.

Thankfully that didn't happen in December, but on the hottest day of the year. Phew, scorchio!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.