Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Problematic Lightning

Found a problem. A compatibility problem. I went to make some music today, and discovered that my new iPad can't connect to my Alesis IODock, which is what allows me to record the output of the iPad to the computer. Damn damn and double-damn. Or is that triple-damn?

Anyway, here you see the dock connector on the IODock, and the Lightning connector on my new iPad. I guess there's an adaptor in my future; that ought to make it work.

I've been inspired: a new project will be to try to get a (necessarily HDR) photo of the Moon with earthshine. It will be rather difficult, I'm thinking. Had a go tonight, and encountered a number of difficulties; not the least was that with even insufficient exposure to show details in the earthshine, the crescent was blown-out to the point it would have impinged on the dark part. Also a problem lies in aligning the images: my HDR app failed abysmally, even with sequential photos, and Filterstorm seems to have lost the ability to mask second exposures (it just gives a big black smear). I wonder whether Photoshop Touch might manage it. (I know I won't get the results on an iPad that I could on a desktop computer, but it's cheaper, more convenient, and I enjoy it more.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.