In the driving seat

Today the weather turned and became cloudy and quite cool. Only 14 degrees. A pity after a week or so of uninterrupted sunshine. It is also a month since I was last in Aberdeen with the exception of a couple of days around the end on June.

Made a quick trip out to Crathes. At the station it was quite busy with several people having train rides. Though there was no steam locomotive today one of the diesel locomotives was running. One of the guys let me take a picture inside the cab. I could not help but mention I had been t see the A4s in York.

As mentioned in a couple of other of my Blips they have been rebuilding Oldmedrum station at Crathes. It is not finished yet but already it has been vandalised! I was told the police had caught the individual concerned, he was after the lead roof lining. They have now used a metal not worth trying to steal.

Looking at the speedometer in an enlargement of this photograph I see the locomotive does barely more than 30 miles per hour. However considering they only have a mile or so of track there would scarcely be the opportunity to exceed that speed anyway. A lot of pipes and levers on display!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.