Anyone for Croquet?

I used to play Croquet as a child in the back garden. It lust have been a very small croquet lawn, even though the equipment, which had come from my grandparents, was full size. Although my dad was a keen gardener I am also uncertain the lawn would have been as immaculate as this.

It looks to me like there are two croquet lawns here separated by a white line across the lawn. Assuming it was indeed two separate games, then both pitches were in use. Pitches may no be the right word.

If I ever properly knew the rules then I have long since forgotten them. I think the man in the middle is deciding on his next strike. I have no idea if they were expert or otherwise, but they seemed to be taking it all quite seriously.

This croquet lawn is at Crathes Castle, and I have noticed on previous visits the lawn is frequently in use. I presume some payment is required to play on the lawn. The Castle grounds were busy this afternoon, and there were many people just lazing on the grass.

The walled garden is in fine form, and as usual there were several people with cameras. One person stopped to show me his Canon 1D, with power supply. A form of one-upmanship I wonder?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.