Dawn Visitors

The early morning dawn light bathed the meadow in front of the bedroom window and it promised to be a beautiful day!

Door open but lens poking out from behind the curtain I was hoping to be a little camouflaged . Standing on my dressing table stool to get line of sight over the balcony railings I'd put a bit of food out the night before to see what would rock up!
The crow family - mum, dad and 2 kids usually make a terrific din first thing, squawking away as the youngsters need copious mounts of food! Sleep at this point was not an option so all I had to do was to get behind the camera.

You can rarely get the better of a crow and this was no exception! I did like the pink light on it's wings. So alert, quick hearing, canny and always on the lookout for anything suspicious. My lens did look suspicious and although the camera was set to silent it isn't really all that quiet and they could hear it. He cocked his head, looked from side to side and turned round with every sense straining to see where the clicks were coming from.. Not happy, knowing there was something out of the ordinary around, it flew off doing the three hoarse 'kaaah' calls, taking the family which were picking food up off the floor, with it.

Standing there then in the eerily quiet morning loving the light I was suddenly startled to see down the lens my roe deer right up to the fence walking past..too late to get a shot at that point! Think I need a better system. As I'm typing this tonight she is walking past certainly with one baby in tow!! Feel a camera moment coming on....and..... oh bother...Hubs has just gone past with a watering can...well that's blown that then!

May be instead of curtains I need camouflage netting over the windows - you think I'm joking:))))!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.