Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

I'm forever blowing bubbles

Spent the day in London as Diana was taking me to the brasserie in the OXO tower for dinner. Took 181 pictures and it was too late to sort through them to pick the absolute best and/or most appropriate, but this one had a certain immediate appeal, so with minimal thought, this is my photo for today.

We strolled along the Thames path from London Bridge to Blackfriars stopping for liquid refreshments at the Dickens Inn in St Katherine's Dock. Some stunning boats moored here. There is some serious money on display in our capital city, though I guess some of it comes from outside of the UK. What I really liked was how easy it was to leave the main pathway and find yourself in somewhere really quaint and far removed from the typical vista of a capital city.

Dinner didn't disappoint. I had octopus to start, followed by harissa lamb and finishing with bitter chocolate and blonde tart. This was all washed down with a local lager. Very nice indeed.

Diana's middle names is Rosina, so she had booked the table in the name D R Humphrey. It had been written down in the book as Dr Humphrey, so the staff addressed her as doctor Humphrey. Quite a giggle really, and Diana was amused until I suggested that if someone in the restaurant was to fall ill, the staff would probably rush to her and ask her to help the poor soul.

Was knackered when I got home. At that time of night, the train stops at every station so takes an age, and the carriage was not air conditioned. I could barely stay awake, and having just 4 hours sleep last night didn't help. I'm off to bed now. 6 hours sleep should see me good for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.