An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Knees Up!

That's my left knee that is!

Managed to get a better sleep last night. Knee still agony but managed to find a more comfortable sleeping position using cushions.

Still really sore this morning so painkillers swallowed and back on the Tens machine. Was a bit easier walking to the loo but still having to use a stool like a zimmer frame (how glam am I?! ;-) Managed to get showered and dressed but there was no way I could get down the stairs.

Couldn't put it off any longer so phoned NHS 24. The nurse I spoke to was fab but instead of suggesting a home-visit from a GP to administer stronger painkillers, she said I needed to be seen and x-rayed asap so was arranging for a non-urgent ambulance! She said it would be with me within 4 hours. Half an hour later and just as I was packing an overnight bag incase I got kept in, the ambulance arrived with two wonderful lady paramedics.

Turns out the information they received said I was stuck on the stairs instead of just stuck upstairs, which is why they arrived so promptly. They then produced the tiniest, narrow chair that I had to sit on whilst they pushed me down our very steep staircase! Yikes!!!!

David brought Alan into the hall to see me since I hadn't seen him since Friday and the little devil laughed his head off at me coming down the stairs in the chair! It was a scary few minutes let me tell you. My BP was checked in the ambulance on the way to hospital.....surprise surprise it was slightly raised.

Was deposited in A&E and left in the care of a very lovely male nurse with a soft Irish accent. I was well looked after but couldn't help hearing the plight of others in the surrounding cubicles. The poor old dear who'd fallen and broken her hip and who was in great pain brought tears to my eyes as she cried as she was being examined. And the other old dear who had broken her wrist but made me laugh when I heard her say to the nurse "what age am I again?" and when the nurse said "89" she responded by saying "don't you think I've got great legs for 89?" The nurse agreed. :))

Taken for x-ray then back to A&E to be seen by a very handsome (but very young!!) Dr. He gently examined my knee and looked at the x-ray and confirmed what I thought....wear and tear on the side of my knee joint with bone now rubbing on bone. Great. Not.

Need to be seen by Orthopaedic Consultant and to my utter delight and amazement, I was given an appointment for tomorrow morning. Was told if I could walk with two elbow crutches I could go home, if not I would be admitted. Elbow crutches appeared and under the watchful eyes of the lovely doc and nurse, I managed to walk using them. Yay! Got my release papers!

Home and David is now bringing the pull out guest bed downstairs as I will sleep downstairs for the time being. Thankfully there's Alan's wet floor shower room down here so getting showered will be much easier than it was in our bathroom.

Please cross everything for me that I get the ok from the Consultant tomorrow to go to France on Thursday as planned as not going doesn't bear thinking about, even though I know being a passenger on the long, long drive through France will be agony.

And thank you for all your lovely, supportive comments on yesterday's blip xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.