Oh, hello, pretty bird!

Today I have spent some time out in the graden, weeding, and even though it is the middle of winter, I actually broke out in a sweat! Many are the days at this time of year that I feel cheated out of the cold weather. Ah well, that's life in the sub-tropics....

Anyway, when I came back indoors to make some lunch, I had to do a double-take when I saw this small green parrot with the rainbow lorikeets. Was it a baby? No, I didn't think so, there were two of the green parrots and the lorikeets were attempting to shoo them away from the food dish!

The little green birds were not easily intimidated, thankfully, giving me enough time to grab the camera and take a few photos.

Upon investigation, I have come to the conclusion that todays new arrivals in the garden are Red-winged Parrots, the one in the photo being a female.

I took quite a few other birdie photos, a kookaburra in the bare branches of the frangipani tree and also some very pretty photos of figbirds eating a new crop of palm berries, but this is my pick for today as she is a new adition, and it could be another entry for blip big year too. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.