Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Exit Glacier

We got up close and personal with this glacier today.  Learned that it has receded a remarkable distance over the years.  I got close enough that I could almost touch it.

Hopefully, you can see a blue tint in places in the ice.  I was told that was because of the repeated layers of the ice pack and the only color it absorbs now is blue.

The views here are awesome.  Today I saw and photographed a linx, musk ox, American Bald Eagles, a couple of Great Horned Owls and elk. Tomorrow we'll be talking a six-hour cruise out of Seward to see all sorts of  northern sea life.  I have my sea sick patch ready to go.

The weather has been fabulous.  Last night, I walked down the street, in the daylight of Anchorage at 11:30 pm in shorts sleeves!  Same thing today on the hike to see the glacier.  Perfect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.