Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Standout Tree

So, back to work today. I was rather taken with this tree as I walked to the station in the afternoon, so I took a few shots. A few, because I had lately had the telephoto attached, and the camera had kept itself on f/5.6 even after I put my 20mm back on. The ISO was on 200 as well. It took me a few shots to realise why it was looking scruffy and fuzzy. xP Down to f/1.7 and auto ISO and we were right.

I did one of my usual B&W conversions, and liked it, but decided I wanted the tree to stand out a little more. So I had another go: did the same B&W, then pulled the contrast right down, and masked that onto the house and foliage beside and behind - as much as was reasonably practicable. I then duplicated that masked layer and applied a noise reduction, which further softened that which was not-tree. I think it worked out quite well - and it might even withstand a look in large.

I also did a colour version with the "Paris" preset in Camerabag.

Down in the 'Rif all tomorrow, so I'll have to try to snap those lorikeets again. 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.