Fun in the Park

Another boiling day today. I love it and hate it in equal measure!!
I had an interesting first experience at a sale today with some of my prints and cards. It was an NCT Cheeky Monkey Tea Party so I didn't have massive expectations. I was treating it more as a practice run for a few more sales I've got booked later in the year.
Needless to say Mr K and I were still packing cards and framing prints at 1230pm, when I should have already left! When will we learn?!
But I got there eventually and felt like a complete fraud and completely out of my depth as I unloaded the car and got all the things out. There was a woman there showing children's portraits and she kept giving me the evil eye as I unloaded! Everyone was so serious and so professional - and here was me thinking it was just a little baby sale!!!!
I didn't even have a table cloth and had to use a blanket I'd used to protect the pictures in the car!!
But I got it all out eventually and probably at least looked as if I knew what I was doing!
Once all the kids and parents arrived it was clear that no-one was going to buy anything - not just from me but from anyone! They were all too busy with ice cream, soft play and the playground outside.
Mrs L, Miss M and Baby T came to offer a bit of moral support which was lovely. I'll try not to dwell on the fact that she bought an Usborne book and nothing from me...... Hee hee!!!
And then Mr K and the Little Misses turned up which was nice. They had a play, an ice-cream and some dancing with Disco Duck.
And bought an Usborne book.
Seriously, if you can't rely on your family......
But right at the end of the two hours the Disco Duck woman next to me bought a couple of big framed prints which made my day!!! A stranger loved my pictures; loved the fact that she had something personal rather than mass produced and that she knew the story of when and where they were taken. Woohoo!!!!
And after all my hard work - chatting and drinking tea - we went to the park for an hour or so. It was fab and the Little Misses loved it.
I had so many shots to choose from but it's always good to see Miss E so happy! And looking very co-ordinated in her chosen outfit.
And not at all too hot apparently!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.