Both Eyes on Me

Glancing out of my MIL's kitchen window I could see this little darter buzzing around the pond and never one to miss a blip opportunity...........! Shedding the old Marigolds quick smart I shot outside scaring off the crows along with a couple of huge black-backed gulls and took a couple of shots. It seemed happy enough to have me there for a few minutes.

My MIL had gone into hospital for a cataract op this morning - quite apprehensive really as I suppose most people are when it comes to people messing around with your eyes. While she was out we decided to blitz the kitchen giving it a good old spring clean which she was very appreciative of - so haven't seen much of the sun today.

This is a juvenile male common darter which when it reaches maturity will have a red abdomen whereas the females have yellowy brown. A fairly common species hence the name....it breeds in still water flying June to October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.