a town called E.

By Eej

Awkward

For the longest time I've called myself shy - but I feel it's more that I'm incredibly socially and spatially awkward.
I'm the person who says odd things back when people talk to me - or I'll stutter or just laugh sort of nervously. And then I'll walk into a doorpost or my bike falls on me.
Once, at a party, I started to give friendly kisses-on-the-cheek to someone I knew and then I kissed his boyfriend next to him - which mid-kiss turned out not to be his boyfriend but a random relative of the birthday boy. I was so at a loss I proceeded to kiss the entire room - many of them people I hardly knew.

That was fun.

New situations with new people are challenging for me but I'm working on it - until then, I'll regularly be the woman sitting by herself, trying very hard not to hide in her hair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.