What's the problem????

Spotted this poor female blackbird in the garden this evening and she seems to have a beak which is permanently wedged open. At first I thought her lower beak had split or a piece had come off like a splinter and was wedging it open. I couldn't get a better shot to show you without causing distress to her (I think she has a nest nearby). Her lower beak is wholly in tact but what is that thing stopping her from closing her mouth...looks like a spiky dried up tongue! Any ideas? Bit sad to see. I hope she can eat ok....

In other news he weather continues to be fab. 32 degrees here today and for the second night in a row I have woken at about 6:30 a little cold and decided I needed to grab the duvet (24 degrees) what's that about!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.