Why dogs?

I do not know.

It was late in the day when I went for my run, and the Auckland Centre of the University of Otago (Te Whare Wananga o Otago; The House of Learning in Otago) was closed for the day. Even if they had been open, they may not have welcomed a strange man in running gear asking about the sculpture of three dogs outside their front entrance.

Otago University (in Dunedin) is where S and I went , and met on the first day of the orientation week. We had just listened to a talk by a self satisfied (smug even) lecturer who was scathing about all the young women who came to Dunedin to catch a medical student. My year had the largest to then number of women in the class; 12 out of 120. Now women make up more than half the starting class, and no one would think such sentiments, let alone have the effrontery to say such a thing.

We had no dog then; we still have no dog. I am quite okay about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.