... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Goosle Goslings: Teenage Rebellion...

Punkier in large ("L").

Another sweltering day; I visited the pond with the 70-200mm attached... When I picked my camera up yesterday, I bought some lens-cleaning fluid and finally cleaned the pond water off the UV-filter (after Mrs. flapped her wings when I was very close, soaking me and the front of my camera/lens).
I went with a particular photo in mind: I wanted to photograph the goslings doing flappy-dance. They didn't play ball: they swam around for ages and came ashore only twice... On land they mostly preened and rested, and did no flapping whatsoever... Looking at last year's photos, I think that they might have been a little older before they began the flappy-dance phase properly. Something to look forward to!

Talking of preening, I reckon that they're behaving in quite a teenage fashion generally: they're trying to be more independent (going further from their parents), they're sporting funny punky hair-dos (down-dos?), they're spending a lot of time loafing/snoozing, and this one was even looking quite moody...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.